Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Let the Race for the Men's Indoor Title Begin

ETSU looks to claim back-to-back indoor track and field titles in 2010 and their fourth crown in five years to cement its place atop the A-Sun in track and field.

Kennesaw State sits as the only team other than ETSU to claim the A-Sun indoor team title. The Bucs won the title in 2009 besting the second-place Owls by 10.5 points. Campbell finished third, USC Upstate fourth, Belmont fifth, Lipscomb sixth and UNF seventh.

ETSU returns six Atlantic Sun Individual Champions from a season ago, including Jarrod Burton, who claimed the indoor title in both the weight throw and the shot put in 2009. Benjamin Ronoh leads the way on the track as the returning conference champion in the 3,000 and 5,000-meter run. His cousin and two-time A-Sun individual cross country champion Kenneth Rotich, placed second behind Ronoh in both events. Quentin Greenlee claimed the 200-meter crown last season for the Bucs but could not pull off the double due to a disqualification in the finals of the 60-meter dash (Greenlee posted the best time in the conference a season ago).

2009 A-Sun cross country champion Kennesaw State sits as one of the top contenders looking to knock ETSU off the top step. The Owls claimed the conference title in 2008 stopping the Bucs last bid for consecutive conference titles. Senior Joshua McNair leads Kennesaw State in throws, placing second in both the shot put and weight throw at the championships in 2009. Jerome McKinzie leads the way for the Owls in jumps claiming the conference title a season ago. McKinzie also looks to contend at the national level in the high jump after posting a leap of over seven feet a season ago. All of Kennesaw State’s 4x400-meter team returns after falling just .26 seconds short of a conference crown in 2009.

One of the key races at the 2010 Championships should be the distance medley relay. Both Kennesaw State and ETSU holds a solid group of distance runners as the Owls return the team that won the A-Sun title in 2009 while ETSU must replace two runners on its distance relay squad.

Campbell looks to track a step in 2010 as it returns 60-meter hurdles champion Adoniss Jones, who claimed the conference title a season ago by more than a full tenth of a second. (The next three runners in the finals were separated by .07 of a second). The Camels also feature Harold Sims, the reigning 400-meter conference champion. In 2009, Campbell also picked up the 4x400-meter relay title by edging out Kennesaw State this season the entire 2009 relay team will return.

The Camels’ Harold Sims returns as the best finisher from a season ago in the long jump, while Perrish Goggins of USC Upstate brings back the best finish in the 2009 championships.

Justin Crawford looks to repeat as the conference champion in the pole vault after best the field a season ago by half a foot.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Atlantic Sun blog welcomes all comments, critiques and questions. We only delete those comments that are abusive, off-topic, use excessive foul language, or include ad hominem attacks. We pre-moderate comments on our blog posts.